Peppermint Lavender Sugar Scrub

My best friend’s birthday is today.

She is really good about birthdays. She always remembers mine and my 3 kids birthdays, and makes a point to not only wish us happy birthday, but bring cards and gifts. (It’s not like she’s bored; she has 3 young children of her own.)

Me? I do one of those texts a week later that says, “Hope you had a wonderful birthday! Sorry I missed it.” because I don’t remember what the ACTUAL day was, just an approximate week.

But this year. Ohhhh this year I was determined to remember! And coincidentally, her birthday fell on a Thursday, which is when I see her for women’s bible study. So really I had no excuse. I couldn’t show up empty handed, that’s for sure. I did buy her a card, but I wanted to get her a gift too. Instead of buying something, I wanted to do it a little differently this year.

I made a homemade sugar scrub.

Yes. I did. Me. >>This girl.<<
The one who is really bad at any kind of creative DIY-type-anything.

I’ve discovered that just as I did with cooking, once you get past the beginning learning curve with essential oils, you can mix and match the ones you like/need to serve different purposes and to create blends of scents.

So here’s the recipe for the sugar scrub I made her! I promise you have most, if not all, of these things already in your home. If you’d to know how to obtain the purest and most aromatic essential oils, click here.

1/4 cup Brown Sugar
1/4 cup White Sugar
1/2 cup Grapeseed oil (you can use olive oil, but Grapeseed has a much milder scent and is also less expensive. You could also use fractionated coconut oil if you have it.)
2 drops Protective Blend
5 drops Lavender oil
7 drops Peppermint oil

Mix everything together in a bowl with a whisk…
image

and then store in an airtight container. (I purchased a 4 pack of shallow mason jars for less than $5 at Target.) DONE!

wpid-wp-1415236385181.jpg

wpid-wp-1415236403845.jpg

wpid-wp-1415236420990.jpg

UPDATE: When I was really low on lavender oil but couldn’t wait to make another batch, I substituted Lemon for the lavender. I think I like it better! The lavender is great for soothing, so I instead put it in this All-Purpose Repair Cream that I use after the scrub. That way I get the cleansing & purifying benefits of the scrub all at once, and the calming, soothing, smoothing effects of the cream afterwards. Try the two together – it’s awesome!

____________________________________________________________________

Protective Blend – this oil blend includes wild orange, clove, cinnamon, eucalyptus, and rosemary. Together they are a great immune booster – plus it smells divine! I chose it a little for the smell, but mostly to add that little immune booster. This protective blend is all around amazing!

Lavender – good for acne, burns, scarring, stretch marks, water retention. It is an antidepressant, antifungal, anti-inflammatory, regenerative, antiseptic (among many other things!). It is calming and balancing. I chose it for the many benefits it has for repairing damaged skin (dry, cuts, chafes, burns, etc) and for the lovely smell.

Peppermint – good for headaches, indigestion, scabies, nausea, itchy skin, muscle aches and fatigue. It is analgesic, antibacterial, anti-inflammatory, antiseptic, antiviral, and invigorating. I chose this for the invigorating smell and the cooling sensation.

I’m loyal to one specific essential oil company, because I’ve found their purity stands far above the rest, and their educational support is second to none. To learn which one is my favorite, use my contact form and I’ll reply with details.

3 thoughts on “Peppermint Lavender Sugar Scrub

I'd love to hear what you think!