All-Purpose Repair Cream

I’ve been waiting to post this one until I had a new batch of the glorious stuff.

I’ve used this ‘cream’ to help:
*Diaper Rash – relieve pain & reduce redness
*Face lotion – reduce lines, soften skin, calm acne
*Hands & Body – soften & moisturize skin
*Lip primer – before gloss or lipstick to soften and soothe chapped lips
*Anywhere – Soothe burns, rashes, or cuts

I love this. I use it on my face at night (my skin feels and looks so much healthier!) and on my hands pretty often throughout the day. I wish I had taken before and after pictures of my hands. The palm-side of my fingers had been really appalling – the lines on them were really deep and had a dark stain in them that no amount of scrubbing would remove (this was likely due to my working in a restaurant). I felt embarrassed because it looked like I never washed my hands, when quite the opposite was true. I began applying this cream after using my Lemon Peppermint Scrub, and the difference is amazing. The lines have been reduced, there is no longer a permanent dark stain on my fingers, and my hands always feel like velvet after applying it!

If you are an essential oils user, you probably already have all these ingredients in your home. Here is the recipe!

wpid-wp-1416337625427.jpg

All-Purpose Repair Cream
1/2 c Coconut oil (melted)
10-15 drops Lavender essential oil
10 drops Frankincense essential oil
10 drops Melaleuca essential oil

When I use just for my facial/skin care (not for first aid purposes), I add:
*5 drops Bergamot
*2 drops Geranium
*1 teaspoon Vitamin E oil

First measure your coconut oil into a small glass mixing bowl. Fill a small pot or large measuring cup (like a 2+ cup Pyrex) with very hot steaming water (not boiling). Create a sort of double boiler by placing the bowl with coconut oil over the hot water. The steam will melt the coconut oil. I’m sure you can use the microwave to melt it, and I’ve heard of people doing it, but personally I like to melt it more naturally. (You can even do this directly in the mason jar if it has a wide mouth, but be careful because it will be full!)

Once the coconut oil is melted, add your essential oils and use a small whisk to stir. Then put into a mason jar, put the cap on tightly, and set somewhere to cool.

wpid-wp-1416337638232.jpg

When the coconut oil cools down, it will solidify more. The addition of the oils, though, make it smoother than the coconut oil on its own. If you are in a hurry to use it, you can place in the fridge for a few minutes until it’s the right consistency.

wpid-wp-1416337696404.jpg

Now this ‘cream’ is not like store-bought lotions you’ve used before; it took me awhile to get used to the more oily consistency. However the benefits far outweigh the discomfort of trying something new. You may want to allow a couple minutes for it to set into your skin. If my hands ever feel too oily after application, I simply pat them with a towel.

POSSIBLE MODIFICATIONS:
Next up, I’m going to try a combo of coconut oil and shea butter, as well as the addition of Roman Chamomile!
______________________________________________________________________

Lavender has an overall calming effect on the mind and body. It’s frequently used to soothe skin irritations and help skin recover from various maladies including rashes, burns, cuts, scabs, dry skin, etc. It helps reduce muscle tension and promote relaxation.

Frankincense is one of the most widely prized oils; it has been used for centuries for its various uses including soothing, beautifying, and rejuvenating skin, reducing the appearance of stretch marks, scars, and lines, and slowing the signs of aging. It has even been used as perfume! It is anti-inflammatory and immune-boosting, and aids in overall optimum body system performance. 

Melaleuca can be used to cleanse and purify the skin and nails and to promote a clear, healthy complexion. It is frequently used on minor skin irritations to soothe the skin and help it recover quickly. It is also anti-viral and great for boosting immunity (great for our hands!)

I’m loyal to one specific essential oil company, because I’ve found their purity stands far above the rest, and their educational support is second to none. To learn which one is my favorite, use my contact form and I’ll reply with details.
3 thoughts on “All-Purpose Repair Cream

I'd love to hear what you think!

