NEW – Beginner’s Series

When I consider where I started in my cooking journey, I remembered how long it took me to really grasp certain concepts. Many hours watching cooking shows, asking my mom questions over the phone, poring over magazine articles and recipes; I eventually got familiar with the basics: necessary prep, different cooking methods, different ingredients, and most importantly, CULINARY LINGO. (Because I remember not knowing the difference between a dice and a chop and a mince, and why did I have to do one to an onion and another to a clove of garlic? What’s a HEAD of garlic, and what’s a CLOVE? And how do you get the skin off that garlic anyway??)

So, in an effort to aid others who may be in the same boat I was, I am starting a Beginner’s Series. These posts will discuss very basic things like how to boil water; cooking pasta; the difference between broiling, baking, frying, steaming, etc.

If you, as a reader, have a question, please post it here and I will do my best to answer, as best I know how!

Happy cooking!

A good place to start learning is by searching the “Quick Tip” Category.

I'd love to hear what you think!