DIY Dry Shampoo

A few weeks ago I made some dry shampoo and I am loving it! (I cannot believe I am making stuff like this… I’ll repeat what I usually say: if I’m making it, it must be fool-proof!)

Pause: Are you wondering what dry shampoo is?
I didn’t even know it existed until a couple years ago. Basically it’s a product that livens up your hair on a day you don’t want to wash it. It removes that greasy-look and helps style your hair. I don’t have time to shower and style my hair every day, so I love dry shampoo. I don’t really love the idea of a ton of chemicals being sprayed on my scalp, however.

Enter DIY dry shampoo!

I pulled fromΒ 2 different recipes (this one and this one) and landed on this recipe:

DRY SHAMPOO:
1/2 cup cornstarch (if you have it, use arrowroot powder instead!)
2 tablespoons cocoa powder (omit if you have blonde hair; substitute cinnamon if you have auburn or red hair)
2 drops lavender essential oil
2 drops melaleuca essential oil
2 drops peppermint essential oil
2 drops rosemary essential oil

I combined everything in an 8oz mason jar, put on the cap, and shook it up! This works well enough, but to distribute the oils more evenly, I recommend pouring all the ingredients into a blender or food processor and pulsing a few times.
wpid-20150828_153542.jpg

HOW TO USE:
I use an old kabuki brush to apply to the roots of my hair in the parts that are looking greasy (usually around my face). Then I rub into the roots with my fingertips until it’s well blended.
wpid-20150828_153518.jpg
Alternate method of application: poke holes in the steel top of the mason jar and shake onto hair. My concern with this method was the mess it would make if I ever knocked it over. I wanted something that could always be sealed.

Grease be gone! Plus it smells ah-may-zing. My results are below…

Before:

Before: greasy

Before: greasy

After:

After: shiny and clean!

After: healthy and clean!

Try this super simple recipe and let me know how it works for you!

Click here to discover howΒ to get the best essential oils on the market.

I'd love to hear what you think!

