Breakfast Bread Pudding

I love when ‘leftovers’ inspire me to make something new!

Last night I had some almost-stale strips of Irish Soda Bread leftover from church on Sunday. I also only had 3 eggs, since we were going grocery shopping the next morning. I suddenly thought how delicious it would be to eat the soda bread (which had raisins in it!) as French Toast! I was concerned we wouldn’t have enough for everyone, so I started thinking how I could stretch the meal a little bit.
Enter chunks of cinnamon apples!

I prepped as much as I could the night before, just getting out simple ingredients to reduce steps and make my morning go smoother. And then I cooked, and it turned out amazing!

What you’ll Need:
1 apple (gala or Granny Smith are good), diced into small cubes
about 3 cups Irish Soda bread with raisins (older bread is great because it will hold its shape better), cut into thin strips
2 eggs
about 1/4 cup Milk
1/2 teaspoon Vanilla
Several shakes Cinnamon
1-2 tablespoons Brown Sugar
1 tablespoon White granulated Sugar
1-2 tablespoons Butter

1. Chop up an apple into small, square cubes. I made them pretty small (1/4″ maybe) to match the soda bread, which was cut into thin strips.
2. Dump said apples into a bowl and add cinnamon and sugar. Stir to coat them!
3. In a separate bowl whisk the eggs, vanilla, more cinnamon, a dash or two of salt, and the milk until combined.
4. Add butter to a frying pan and turn heat to medium. Heat while doing next steps. *Watch until butter melts, but does not bubble up or burn.
5. Add the strips of soda bread into the egg mixture. TIP: Pouring the egg mixture into a pie pan before adding the soda bread will allow you to coat more bread in less time, and enable you to add them to the pan at the same time, therefore cooking them more evenly
6. Once butter is melted, add the cubes of cinnamon apples to the pan.
7. Add the egg-soaked strips of soda bread and stir to mix with apples. Let cook for 1-2 minutes, then stir again.
8. Continue to stir, making sure no one side burns but that all pieces are cooked and not soggy.

When finished, the bread will take on a French Toast texture, and combine with the apples and other pieces of bread for a bread-pudding feel.

So delish!

So delish! This is what was left in the pan after first serving but before second helpings 😉

My kids loved this and so did I! It’s sweet enough not to need any syrup, but it is perfect with some homemade whipped cream (which is way easier to make than you might think, and which I am now making pretty much every week 😉 ).

Try this for a quick weekday breakfast – maybe a special occasion like a birthday or Awards Ceremony, first or last day of school. Or just if you have bread that’s getting stale 😉

ENJOY!

I'd love to hear what you think!

