What is a ‘distaff’?

For me, digging into the Word is more than just reading. It’s examining, asking questions of the text, researching, learning history, and exploring definitions.

As most of you likely know by now, Proverbs 31 is one of the passages I refer to most, because it has such a practical explanation of what a dedicated, productive, successful woman of God looks like.

I’ve looked up the word ‘distaff’ before, but I decided I needed a better understanding of it. Now I don’t plan on going out and getting one of these and spinning my own yarn/thread… but I think this verse speaks to the practicality, necessity, and usefulness of the Proverbs 31 woman’s tasks! Her hands are always busy and she doesn’t eat the bread of idleness!

So tonight I have a fun, light-hearted post for you just to see what a distaff and spindle look like and how they work. In your mind’s eye can you see all the Proverbs 31 women of the past using their distaffs and teaching their daughters how to use them? I could after watching these cute and informative videos I found online. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did! 🙂

 

Videos by MissingSpindle

I'd love to hear what you think!

