Quick Tip – Preserving apples

Every year, on “Thanksgiving Eve”, we gather with my mom’s side of the family for Pie Night.

Yes, you read that correctly: PIE NIGHT.
My great – great grandma Kate finally got tired of working so hard to make pies that no one had room to eat after Thanksgiving Dinner, so she declared the Wednesday before to be Pie Night.

For the past several years I’ve been in the process of perfecting the apple pie – trying different methods to see what comes out best.

One issue I’ve had is keeping the apples from browning before I peel and chop them all (I’m not a machine you know, and I’m old fashioned and don’t use a corer or a fancy one-trick pony appliance).

Obviously lemon juice stops the browning, but juicing so many lemons leaves my hands burning and dry.

So, since I have essential oils this year, I decided to try that instead!

First I put some apple cider (only 1/4cup or so) in a large bowl and then added several cups of water and about 6-10 drops of lemon oil.

After I peeled each apple, I put it in this bowl. Then once I was finished peeling all of them, I removed one apple at a time to chop it, replacing it in the bowl.

image

Not only did this preserve the apples a bit, but it seasoned them so they tasted very fresh and crisp!

image

And, you get all the immunity benefits of the lemon oil!

Happy Thanksgiving from my family to yours!

3 thoughts on “Quick Tip – Preserving apples

I'd love to hear what you think!

