New mPerks Rewards Format!

Did you know Meijer has recently changed the format for their rewards program through mPerks? I am loving it after only a few weeks. They used to have 3 sections from which you could choose from 4-5 categories, but only one of those at a time. (Does that sound confusing? Here’s a little better explanation, including basic info about the mPerks program if you’d like to enroll for free.) Recently they rolled out a new format. Now, you can work towards earning ALL those options at once.

For example: I am currently working on earning the following:
$6 OFF your shopping trip
after you spend $40 or more in Paper, Laundry & Cleaning Items
$5 OFF your shopping trip
after you spend $25 or more in Home Linens
$6 OFF your shopping trip
after you spend $35 or more in Health Care
$9 OFF your shopping trip
after you spend $65 or more in Dairy, Deli & Cheese
$6 OFF your shopping trip
after you spend $45 or more in Produce
$8 OFF your shopping trip
after you spend $60 or more in Fresh Meat & Seafood (excl. Deli)
$20 OFF your shopping trip
after you spend $750 or more

I have 4 weeks to reach the total and earn my reward. The mPerks app (or logging in online) tells you how long you have left to finish a reward. When I went this morning, I had earned $58 off my total basket before I even bought anything! This was an accumulation of earning 5 total rewards:

Rewards earned, plus a $1.50 off $15 produce purchase

Rewards earned, plus a $1.50 off $15 produce purchase

What my app looked like before I redeemed these rewards.

What my app looked like before I redeemed these rewards.

The BEST part about this is I earned them purchasing things I was going to purchase anyway. All my really healthy, organic, or brand-specific people, this is why you’ll love it: because you can purchase whatever brand you want, whatever kind of produce/fish/bread/cosmetic you want, and they all work towards earning that total. Plus, if you’re buying organic products, they usually cost more, so you’ll probably earn these faster that way. As soon as you complete a reward, you’re given new ones to work towards.

I am super excited about this new format, and I sure hope they keep it, because seeing this on your receipt is pretty awesome:

Let's keep this plan, please!

Let’s keep this plan, please!

A tip: don’t click “start earning” until the day you are going to shop – this maximizes the time you have to earn the reward. For example, I added one that earns me $5 off when I spend $30 in toys, because we had a birthday party and I assumed I would buy the gift there. I ended up buying it somewhere else, so now the clock is ticking on using that one before it expires. Oh well, I was planning on starting some Christmas shopping soon anyway. 😉

I have to end with an excellent deal I found today. I’ve been wanting a nice big bag to use for work (paperwork, extra clothes/shoes) and on-the-go play dates/lunches. I searched the 30% off handbag section and came across this bright beauty:
Right??

Right??

Lots of room inside with smaller pockets.

Lots of room inside with smaller pockets.

Notice what the tag says the price is:
wpid-wp-1412650480074.jpg

But look what my receipt says!

$5!!!!

$5!!!! (I feel like I owe an explanation for the underwear. It is for my officially potty-trained 2 year old! Wahoo!)

Only $5?! For this perfect, pink, cheery tote?! Um, Yes please and ThankYouVeryMuch! Never underestimate the potential of the clearance section!

So, that’s all. Now get on the savings train y’all!!! (I needed a closing statement, and that sounded like something a saver would say. Right?)

*Edit: I originally left out the part about baby rewards because I don’t have babies anymore. But for those if you who do, once you spend $100 in baby products (yes, any brand, any item), you get a credit for $10 off. You can use it immediately or wait until you have several of these credits to use then all at once (in $10 increments). Might be good if you’re saving for a better stroller, or another higher priced item!
**If you have a lot of repeat prescriptions, there are prescription rewards as well.

I'd love to hear what you think!

