Double Pork Chili (Second Meal)

By now, most of you probably know my concept of Second Meals: planning a different, second meal using leftovers from a separate meal earlier in the week. Usually, when I make a spice-rubbed pork loin, I make my default Second Meal with the leftovers: Pork Pozole Soup. But today was unseasonably cold, and I wanted something a little heartier. Soup just wasn’t going to cut it tonight! I remembered I had some previously-cooked ground sausage in the fridge from earlier in the week, and suddenly I knew what I would make instead! So here’sΒ what I did (list of ingredients at end of post). Keep in mind I was just using up leftover portions of much of this produce from earlier meals, so you can adjust your quantities to taste.

Start with a tablespoon or two of butter and a tablespoon of EVOO in a large stock pot. Once the butter is melted, add about half a red onion, chopped. After a minute or two of sauteeing, add 2 diced cloves of garlic. I then roughly chopped a few mini-bella mushrooms and added them. Next, half of a jalapeno, finely diced. I also had a bag of those tiny cocktail bell peppers, so I added 1 orange and 1 red, finely chopped. Stir and saute for a minute or two. I added 1/2 a beefsteak tomato, roughly chopped. Then I peeled, quartered, and finely chopped about 1 1/2 carrots. (Use 2 whole ones if they’re smaller – mine were quite large!) Then I sprinkled salt,Β cumin and paprika once around the pot. Stir again! Next I squeezed the juice from half a lime in with the veggies and, of course, stirred. Next I used up the rest of my pesto tomato paste (regular is fine too) – it was probably about 1 1/2 tablespoons. Stir in until it is almost a veggie paste. You don’t want big clumps of the tomato paste. Let that cook for a good 2-3 minutes, then deglaze the pan with about 1/4 cup of red wine (I used merlot, because that’s what I drink these days!). Stir and cook for a few more minutes until fully incorporated.

Delicious veggies and sausage... You will become CHILI soon!

Delicious veggies and sausage… You will become CHILI soon!

Now that the veggies are finished, we can add our meat! First I added that previously cooked ground sausage leftover from an earlier dinner. It didn’t take too long for that to incorporate once I stirred it up a bit. Then I pulled out my spice-rubbed pork loin from last night and chopped it up. (Recipe to come!) **Because this pork is highly seasoned, I don’t need a lot of seasonings in the chili itself.** I added about a cup to the chili mixture. Let that sit for a few, then added a can of petite diced tomatoes. Stir and simmer for about 3 minutes, or until it starts to boil again. Then add your beef stock – again I had this in the fridge from another recipe. I probably used less than a cup. I suggest adding it gradually, because you can always add more, but as the chili cooks, it will reduce to less liquid. Lastly you can add about 1/4 cup of frozen corn and stir.

Bring it up to a boil, reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook for approximately 4 hours, or however long you want. Again remember the longer it cooks the more it will reduce! If you let it go too long and it’s thick or almost burned, you can add a little more beef stock and let it simmer for awhile longer (20-30 minutes should do it).

Serve with shredded cheddar cheese (or Mexican blend) and sour cream! Yummy!

wpid-20141004_165247.jpg

Double-pork Chili

Double-pork Chili

*If you want a little more spice, add one or a few of the following after the veggies but before the deglazing: red pepper flakes, cayenne, or chili powder. I left these out so it wouldn’t be overly spicy for the kids – but my choice would be 2 dashes of chili powder and 1 or 2 shakes of red pepper flakes!

You will need:
Butter & EVOO
1/2 red onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
4-5 mini Portobello mushrooms
1/2 jalapeno, finely chopped
2 small cocktail bell peppers (1 orange, 1 red), finely chopped
1/2 Beefsteak tomato, roughly chopped
1 1/2 – 2 carrots, peeled, quartered, and finely chopped
Cumin, Paprika, Salt, Pepper
Optional: Chili powder, red pepper flakes, cayenne
Juice from half a lime
1 1/2 TBLspn tomato paste
1/4 cup red wine
1/2 chub previously cooked ground sausage
1/2-1 cup chopped leftover spice-rubbed pork loin
1 can petite diced tomatoes
Beef Stock (about 1/2 cup, maybe)
1/4 cup frozen corn
Cheddar Cheese, Sour cream, any other garnishes you wish
*Beans of your choice are optional – I didn’t have any to add, but it was delicious without!

Remember that I usually cook with OHI – whatever I have in my kitchen at the moment. Mix it up to use whatever you have – it’ll be delicious, and you’ll feel resourceful! πŸ™‚

One thought on “Double Pork Chili (Second Meal)

I'd love to hear what you think!

