Aunt Muriel’s Chocolate Chip Cake

This recipe is one of those family recipes that holds a place not only because of its taste, but because of the memories I have with it.
This recipe comes from my grandpa’s aunt; my great- great- aunt. She is currently approaching the ripe age of 90! I can remember making this the first couple times with her in her kitchen in Florida. Remember, I am basically a chocoholic. This cake was the best thing I’d probably ever tasted. The batter is so creamy, tasting like vanilla and sugar (seriously, how is it that butter, sugar, and vanilla can taste so good?). I could probably eat the batter all on its own. But this cake is not only good warm, it’s actually better after it’s cooled… then all the chocolate chips have hardened and oh man is it good.

And then, my mom probably had to call Aunt Muriel and get the recipe, because I asked for it all the time. And there were probably several years in a row where this was the birthday treatΒ I brought to school! (What a shame that we can’t bring in anything homemade anymore. Boo.)

So, without further ado, here is the recipe:
wpid-20140516_084219.jpg

I have never made it in 35 minutes. It’s always 40, sometimes a few minutes more. I have also never used walnuts, because, why ruin it? Even though I’ve begun to enjoy nuts more in recent times, I still don’t think it would add much.

Here are some in action shots for ya…

Adding the chocolate chips to that amazingly creamy batter

Adding the chocolate chips to that amazingly creamy batter

All mixed up. Yum.

All mixed up. Yum.

Smoothed and ready for the oven

Smoothed and ready for the oven

Finished!

Finished!

Did I mention the semi-crunchy crust is one of the best parts???

Did I mention the semi-crunchy crust is one of the best parts???

MMMMM

MMMMM

Hello Beautiful

Hello Beautiful

You can dust it with powdered sugar if you want. It's not really necessary.

You can dust it with powdered sugar if you want. It’s not really necessary.

Now just wait for it to cool, slice, and eat. Any time, day or night. Because it’s almost like a chocolate chip muffin, so that qualifies it as breakfast food.

Yep. You now have permission to eat this for breakfast. You’re welcome πŸ˜‰

 

I'd love to hear what you think!

