Cassie’s Homemade Taco Seasonings

Can I start by telling you that currently, my house is QUIET. So quiet I can hear the clock ticking, the cars a few streets over, and the key tones on my new tablet sound almost deafening. Quiet is nice, for once!

For awhile now I’ve skipped purchasing taco seasoning packets and just done it myself. I honestly don’t remember how I learned what spices to use, but I usually just add them to taste as I go – most often when making my Second Meal of twice-cooked pork tacos. Because I’m usually using pre-cooked (and pre-seasoned) meat, you won’t see salt on the list of ingredients. However, if you are cooking pork or chicken for the first time, I would season your meat first OR add at least 1-2 parts salt.
I like doing this because not only do I not worry about preservatives and mystery ingredients, but I can also adjust to my family’s taste preferences. Plus I’m sure it’s cheaper!

So here’s the recipe for my homemade, easy, family-friendly taco blend!

Cassie’s Taco Seasoning Mix
4 parts Garlic Powder
3 parts Cumin
2 parts Paprika
1 part Cayenne
1/2 part Chili Powder
*If you aren’t using fresh onions with your meat, you can add 2 parts Onion Powder.

image

Put all seasonings in a medium sized bowl and whisk to combine.

image

This is enough to season about 2lbs or so of meat: chicken, pork, and though I haven’t tried it yet, probably beef.

Tonight I tried it using chicken thighs in the crock pot; It was pretty delicious.

You will likely need some moisture from somewhere if cooking directly in a pan or skillet. A bit of water, chicken stock, or tomato juice works well. When I make my twice-cooked pork tacos, the liquid is from the pork itself and from beer. When I made the chicken in crock pot, I used a can of diced tomatoes and green chilies (not drained), then some water too. Experiment to see what your family likes best!

So now you have a go-to, quick taco mix. You can prep it ahead of time and save it in an empty spice jar, a store-bought glass one, or even a tupperware if you plan on using it pretty quickly. Honestly, spices last pretty long, so it’s not a huge deal as long as you’re storing in a cool dry place.

Try this your next taco night and let me know how it goes!

One thought on “Cassie’s Homemade Taco Seasonings

I'd love to hear what you think!

