Making your Grocery List

I wanted to share a post on how I plan my grocery trip every week. I’ve shared how I shop when I am on a stricter budget than normal, but I also wanted to share how I usually do things, in case it helps anyone to try it this way. It may seem like a lot of information, but the general point is this: Putting a lot of thought and planning into your list earns you flexibility and time when it comes to meals.
At the end I’ve listed everything in numerical checklist-type-fashion for ease of use. 😉

Firstly: I keep one of those magnetized lists on my fridge. Throughout the week I will add to this – it’s where I jot down what we have run out of, or are low on, and will need to purchase right away. You could call these things immediate NEEDS. They are generally things we use every week like bananas, milk, butter, eggs; and other items we might not need to purchase every week, but will nevertheless NEED, like toilet paper, cleaning supplies, or a necessary pantry item I ran out of (spices, flour, ketchup, etc.).

Then, a day or two before my planned shopping, I check the weekly ad for sales. With my fridge checklist nearby, I start a new list based on the ad – what’s on sale that I should stock up on? A few things about this list:
* Are there crossover items (items on my NEEDS checklist that are also on sale)? I check for coupons and then add all these items to the new list – whether on sale or not.
* I write things in order of department. I shop from BACK of the store to the FRONT, because most of the cold things are at the front of the store.
* If a sale item is limited to a particular size or brand, I always write that to help me identify it in the aisles.
* I write small and leave room next to each item to write down if I have a coupon, and if so where to find it. This way I don’t forget to cut and/or pack the paper coupons, or forget to scan them at the register. I use Meijer mPerks and the Coupon Lookup site for these.
* I also leave room in the right margin to write the cost, if I need to stick to a particular budget.
* I can then add up the amounts in the margin and get an approximate and preliminary total for my trip.

After I have or while I am perusing the ad, I turn over my list and make a meal plan for the week. I don’t do this until AFTER I look at the ad, because I usually build my meals around protein, and I base my proteins on what’s on sale that week. As I meal plan, I figure out if I need to add anything to my list that are necessary ingredients for those meals, and add them to my list.

Then I’ll go back one more time to make sure I have not forgotten anything. If I’m over my budget, I’ll see if there’s anything I can postpone purchasing.

Here are some categories I check off in deciding what to buy each week:
* Checklist needs, as explained above
* Enough proteins, veggies, and starches for dinners for the week
* Lunch staples – bread, PB&J, etc. Tortillas are also a staple in our house as they are so good for repurposing leftovers.
* Breakfast foods – In our house we rotate cereal, waffles, toast, eggs, and sometimes pancakes and crepes. Other times baked goods like apple cinnamon muffins and banana cookies!
* Pantry replenishment – anything on my needs list, but also includes my preferred OHI; for example, spinach, tomatoes, avocado(!) that I like to have around.
* Easy to grab snacks – this used to mean granola bars and fruit snacks for the kids; now I’ve tried to switch more to fresh fruit and veggies. The ones that are the most mommy-friendly are ones they can eat without any prep (except the original wash of course): grapes, apples, bananas, strawberries. Also good are yogurt and cheese. Sometimes I’ll buy cucumber, wash and cut it, and store it in a bag in the snack drawer in the fridge for the kids to grab easily. These snacks are great for mid-day when I might be prepping for dinner or finally eating my own lunch, and can’t or don’t want to be interrupted! 😉
* Household Items – cleaning, seasonal, essentials (like light bulbs!), home or garden (lawn bags, etc.)
* Special occasion – Cards or gifts for birthdays, showers, weddings; celebratory and also sympathy occasions

Does that seem like a really long drawn out process? It doesn’t actually take me so long anymore, because I can breeze through all these steps really quickly now that I’ve been doing it for so long. I also don’t always do a perfectly detailed Meal Plan every week – that’s the benefit of learning to cook using your OHI. All you have to do is choose proteins and veggies, then replenish your starches, spices, and pantry items. As long as you have a basic idea of the meal plan for each day, you can easily adjust based on what you have on hand. You can adjust this process to fit your needs and lifestyle. If you aren’t as concerned about cost, you save yourself time on coupons and can focus more on trying new recipes. If cost is more of an issue, you have the opportunity to flex your creativity muscle by using cheaper ingredients in new and interesting ways.

Click HERE for a step-by-step checklist to make your own organized, thoughtful shopping list!

One thought on “Making your Grocery List

I'd love to hear what you think!

