Quick Tip: Price Comparison in Store

Being thrifty sometimes means simply paying attention to labels in store,  particularly in the produce section.

Today I had garlic on my list, but I only needed a small head as I still have some at home. I started to grab a small one, as they are usually priced per pound.
That is, until I noticed the signage :

image

2/$1 means no matter what size, it’s going to be the same price. I put back the small one and grabbed a bigger one.

Similarly, there was a pre-packaged 4-pack of kiwis for $2.50. The a la carte kiwis were 4/$2. I don’t always have time to do this, but out of curiosity I put 4 in a bag and weighed them. They came in JUST under 1lb. There’s a $.50 savings right there. It may not seem like a big deal, but when you pay attention to each item on your list this way, you can see big savings in the long run!

I'd love to hear what you think!

