She Shares Truth – Psalm 38

My first response to Psalm 38 was a feeling of unease, and a thought that “I can’t relate. This does not apply to me.” David, who wrote most of the Psalms, lived under the curse of the law – the curse that Jesus redeemed us from. All those rules and regulations do not apply to born-again, blood-washed, freed children of God! God no longer punishes me because of His wrath. He no longer punishes us in the physical realm because of what we’ve done.

But then I remembered what season it is… Lent. (There’s the Lenten Lens again!) We are preparing our hearts to once again celebrate the greatest gift we’ve been given: Our redemption: our sins bought and paid for by Jesus Christ, who was himself blameless.

So this does apply to me – because without Jesus’ sacrifice, this is how I’d live. In constant fear of punishment; constant shame, knowing I’m not enough; constant hysterics, worried about performing the right ritual or what terrible thing would befall me; constant discouragement, because I won’t ever be perfect or able to live up to the law.

And that is why the Father set up the law – for us to realize we can’t keep it. WE NEED HIM.

Praise Jesus, whose sacrifice brought us out from under the curse of the law, and into the shelter of righteousness and grace!

1 John 4:18 – There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.
Romans 8:1 – Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus…

For more on the first and second covenant, and righteousness versus the law, click here.
For more on the #SheSharesTruth project, click here

I'd love to hear what you think!

