Maximize your Potential Savings

A few years ago, a friend told me about a concept called “Super Couponing”. The lady who started it lived right in our area, had a free blog, and held free seminars in which she taught how to coupon. I looked into it and tried it, and LOVED it. It is a totally different way of shopping, but if you’re looking to maximize your savings, it definitely works. (Click for Supercouponing and Jill Cataldo’s blog.)

At least a month ago (before we really started going healthier), I received this alert from Meijer:
wpid-20140309_153119.jpg

This alert is referring to catalinas – the coupons which print at the register. These particular coupons can be used as money off your total basket; you can apply it to anything. What makes them even more awesome is that you can use as many as you want on an order; potentially, if you had enough of these, you could use them to pay for your entire shopping cart (except for tax, I think).
Here’s another example so you have an idea:
wpid-wp-1394397649889.jpg

When you follow the requirements on the alert, you will get a catalina for the amount specified. Around the same time, I also received these catalina coupons:
wpid-20140309_153147.jpg

Now here’s the thing: I could have used these right away, seeing as I would already be “double-dipping” by using the coupons AND receiving money back. But if they’re not on sale, Tombstone can be up to $5 a pop. I usually don’t buy them unless they’re around the $2.50-3.50 mark. Especially since we’ve been eating healthier, I don’t want to expend extra money that could be going towards healthier items. But everything in moderation still applies, and these are good to have on hand in an emergency, or if I’m running behind, and cheaper and quicker than Delivery or Take out pizza.

Here comes the strategy: I wait as long as possible (until the week of expiration) to see if they will go on sale, and then I use everything all at once. Usually it pays off.

Like… This week! I’ve been watching the ad and they haven’t been on sale the past several weeks, but this week they are 3 for $10.

So I will purchase 5 Tombstone pizzas for $16.65 total. After my $2.50 coupon, I will pay $14.15 and get $3 back to use on my next order. That’s like getting 5 Tombstone pizzas for $11.15, or $2.23 each. Not bad at all!!

So you see, it’s true: Good things come to those who wait!

Click here for current national catalina offers.

I'd love to hear what you think!

