Eggs Florentine

As you read in my last post, I’ve been eating over-easy eggs and whole wheat toast for awhile now. Mostly because it’s fast, easy, and I don’t have to think about it much.

But the past few days I’ve just craved something new – something healthier and different from the usual. I haven’t been making the best food choices lately, so I want to incorporate more fruits and veggies back into my meals.

First, I tried eggs on a nest – a spinach nest that is.

Today though I think I found a winner. I’m calling it Eggs Florentine, but it’s really just eggs with spinach and burst cherry tomatoes. It’s also really simple and quick.

image

What to do:
First spray the pan with non-stick cooking spray (I use Pam Olive Oil). Sprinkle a little salt in the pan.
Grab a generous handful of spinach and add to the pan. Leave it alone for about 30 seconds, and then stir it and flip it so everything is cooking evenly. You don’t want it SUPER wilted, just cooked nicely. Slide it out of the pan onto your plate. I like putting it in a circle around the outside of the plate. It looks nice, and will serve our purpose better.
Put the cherry tomatoes in the pan. I used 6 total, but you can use as many or as little as you like. Let them warm up for several seconds, and then roll them around in the pan so they don’t burn in any one spot. You want to cook them until they are sizzling and steaming. You’ll be able to tell when they’re good and cooked inside because the outer skin will start to peel away and look wrinkled. Once they started to steam, I pulled the pan off the burner and continued to roll them around until they stopped steaming. Then I put them around the plate so they looked pretty πŸ˜‰

Now to cook the eggs! You can refer to this post for tips on making excellent overeasy eggs! Put the eggs in the middle of your spinach and tomatoes and enjoy!

You get sweet from the tomatoes, bitter from the spinach, salt from the eggs (which are also seasoned from cooking in the same pan as the veggies), and creamy umami from the egg yolk. Β And you don’t have to feel guilty about eating it either, since we didn’t use fatty butter, only used a couple pinches of salt, and eggs are lean protein and no longer shown to increase cholesterol.

Plus, I guarantee you’ll feel better about starting your day when you’ve got some good veggies into you!

One thought on “Eggs Florentine

I'd love to hear what you think!

