Quick Tip: How to make Perfect Over-easy Eggs

Pretty much every morning, I have overeasy eggs with whole wheat toast. Now, breakfast food is my favorite, but I haven’t had as much time or energy to make more extravagant things lately. So, eggs and toast it is.

I’ve made it so many times that I’ve got it down to a pretty reliable method. I thought I’d share with you.

Note: my stove is electric, so if you have gas you will probably have to adjust a bit.

Prep! First, I take out my small pan and heat it over low-medium heat. It’s just perfect for 2 eggs (or crepes, or an omelet). It’s about the size of a small tortilla.
I spray non-stick spray on the pan, being sure to get halfway up the sides also.

Then, I sprinkle salt. Yes, BEFORE I put the eggs in. Salt sticks better to raw eggs, and it will flavor the egg without leaving an annoying crunch when you’re eating. It’s like the egg absorbs the salt… a happy egg & salt marriage!

Crack! Then I crack the eggs into my pan, one on each side. Some people say you should never crack it on the side of the bowl or pan, but crack it on the counter. That works too. There’s less a chance of puncturing the yolk when you crack on a flat surface. Some people also say you should crack into a bowl first, then pour into your pan. The biggest reason is so you don’t get eggshells in your dish. For baking, I definitely understand this. I don’t want eggshells getting into my batter and having to start over or try to pick them out. But in this case, we’re only making 2 eggs, and only for ourselves. If I happen to get a tiny eggshell or two (which doesn’t happen much anymore), I can usually pick them out right away with no problem.  If you’re concerned about the shells though, definitely crack into a bowl first.
*Careful when you’re pouring from the bowl into the pan. If you are not gentle or slow enough, you can crack the yolk. 

Cooking… Now wait until the eggs are no longer transparent. After they are no longer clear, but before they are completely white, I sprinkle another bit of salt. Before you flip them, they should be white with a little bit of a clear layer still on top.

Next, I use the spatula to separate both eggs – I basically just draw a line down the middle of the pan in between the two yolks.
image

Flip! Gently slide the spatula underneath one egg, starting in the middle of the pan and pushing towards the edge. If it’s cooked enough, it should be easy.  As you slide the spatula underneath, tilt the pan down TOWARDS your spatula-yielding hand.
image

Keeping the pan tilted, flip the egg horizontally and gently place it back in the pan. Turn the pan so you can start from the middle again comfortably. Repeat with the other egg, tilting using the same method as before.

image

Tips for the flip:
*If it’s sticking in parts, or beginning to pull apart, it’s not ready yet – leave it alone!
*The closer your egg is to the pan when you flip it, the less distance it has to travel and the less likely the yolk is to break.
*Turn and lift the pan to your comfort – whatever makes it easier for you to maneuver those eggs!

Finish. At this point I actually turn off the heat and just let the pan sit on the hot burner for about 2 minutes. The residual heat will finish cooking the egg. This helps avoid overcooking, turning the bottom rubbery, or hardening the yolk. *Here’s where you might need to adjust if you have a gas stove -you still want heat on the pan, but only a very little. You can try turning off the heat, but the hot pan might not be sufficient to finish it all the way. I’d recommend leaving the heat for the first 30-45 seconds, and then turning it off to finish. After those few minutes, remove from the pan and plate!

One thought on “Quick Tip: How to make Perfect Over-easy Eggs

I'd love to hear what you think!

