An Excellent Article: “Food is not your God”

If you’ve been following my blog, you know that I do my best to feed my family healthy meals, but I am not an extreme health nut – by that I mean:
* I don’t buy strictly organic.
*I don’t follow any gluten-free, dairy-free, fat-free, sugar-free, pesticide-free or meat-free strict diet
*I buy fresh produce whenever possible, and organic when it’s in our budget.
*I eat as much whole wheat as possible.
*I buy generic milk, eggs, cheese, and other grocery items.
*I also buy frozen vegetables (it’s actually supposed to preserve the nutrients better)
*I can’t wait for the day (hopefully this spring!) when I have the time & money to buy from the local farmer’s market instead of making only one trip to the store per week.
*I use butter & margarine, non-organic milk, and I feed my kids fruit snacks (that are not organic!)
*I drink beer and wine.

There’s a lot of research out there, and for every argument there is supportive evidence why something is good or bad for you. If you get caught up in it (like I did!) you will feel guilty EVERY. TIME. you put something in your mouth. I felt trapped. Like nothing I ate was healthy, so why bother even trying? BRING ON THE GREASY SPOON!!

I finally had to just let it go, and do my very best to feed my family as healthily as I could while staying within our budget. I pray over our meals. This article puts it in perspective even more though, because God does give us everything richly to enjoy (1 Timothy 6:17) – including our food!!! Our Senior Pastor Bill Hybels taught on Self-Control this weekend. He made a great point: that self-control and delayed gratification are important for success in any endeavor, but if you don’t reward yourself occasionally or celebrate when you reach your goals, you will end up hating your life. (Or, in my opinion, become proud and haughty, and reliant on your own skills instead of relying on GOD.) And that’s not the kind of life God wants for us – because He came that we might have and enjoy our life, in abundance, to the full, until it overflows (John 10:10).

Read the article here, and let me know what you think — Have you struggled in regards to  food choices? What did you struggle with specifically, and how did you overcome that struggle?

One thought on “An Excellent Article: “Food is not your God”

I'd love to hear what you think!

