Carrot Ginger Coconut Soup!

One day a few years ago I came to work for a lunch shift and asked what the soup of the day was. Carrot Ginger Coconut Soup, they said. “WHAT?!” I thought… This combination sounded far from delicious to me.

That is, until I tried it.

And realized it was AMAZING!

This was back when I didn’t really even eat soup. I just didn’t really enjoy them at all. In my opinion, they weren’t filling enough for an entire meal. And even when I DID try to like soup, I only usually liked the creamy ones, which weren’t good for you anyway. So I figured I’d rather spend my calories on dessert (cuz that’s just the kinda girl I am).

This soup gives you all the richness of a cream-based soup without the guilt. It’s delicious and warms you to the core, if that’s what you want.

Now that you’re intrigued, how do you make it??

Start by roughly chopping some carrots. They can be big carrots, baby carrots, this time I even added some shredded carrots because I had them on hand. (To be more exact, you can use about 3/4 of a bag of baby carrots. I believe that’s what I used last time I made this.) Add some water to a little more than covering the carrots and salt it. Cover and cook on medium until the carrots are soft, probably about 20-30 minutes.

Carrots cooking!

Carrots cooking!

Next drain all but a very little bit of water, just enough to cover the bottom of the pan.

20131211_161537

Use Β an immersion blender to puree the carrots. *If you don’t have an immersion blender, you can wait for the carrots to cool and then blend them in the blender, then put back in the pot to finish.

20131211_161855

Next pour in one can of coconut milk. (Usually you have to shake the can because the contents separate after being still on a shelf for so long.) Grate some fresh ginger into the soup. If I had to guess, I’d say about 1-2 teaspoons to taste.

20131211_162338

I’m not sure why the carrots look so much darker in this picture. I didn’t add pumpkin puree or something, even though it looks like I did. πŸ˜‰

Mix again with the immersion blender until frothy. (I suppose you could use a hand-held blender here too, but it won’t be as smooth.)

20131211_162453

Add a couple pinches of all spice, pumpkin pie spice, and a couple drizzles of honey.

20131211_163100

Hmmm… what do you think is next? Blend, of course!

20131211_163345

This last time I accidentally bought ‘lite’ coconut milk, so I ended up adding a few splashes of heavy whipping cream 😦 It still tasted fine, it just bothered me that I had to use the cream since that’s the whole point of this soup: creamy but still healthy.

20131211_163808

Finished product… Enjoy and be warm!!

20131211_165642

*If you want to add a little counterpoint, you can sprinkle with parmesan cheese, or a bit of freshly grated Parmesan.

One thought on “Carrot Ginger Coconut Soup!

I'd love to hear what you think!

