Veggie Omelet (First Meal)

By now you know I am big on buying grocery items that I can utilize in more than one way. Here’s how you can use some of the same veggies in a few different meals.

We’ll start with breakfast! The hubs has been getting serious about losing weight, so he’s actually agreed to more veggie intake and decreasing carbs. Today I made him a veggie omelet. Super easy!

Here’s what you do:
1. Sprinkle some parmesan cheese into the bottom of a bowl.
2. Crack 3 whole eggs into said bowl (see this article for info on why eggs do not raise your cholesterol)
3. Add a splash or two of milk (we use 2% here)
4. Mix with a whisk, fork, or my personal favorite when I’m in a hurry, the whisk attachment on your hand mixer.
5. Meanwhile chop, dice, or pull out of the fridge your pre-prepped veggies of choice. I like onion, pepper, tomato, and spinach.
6. Heat a large skillet over medium heat, add a little pat of butter, and cook the veggies till softened. Remove from heat.
image

7. Heat a small skillet over medium heat and coat with non-stick cooking spray. **You can use a large skillet here, but I like the small omelet size ones as they are easier to flip.**
8. Pour egg mixture into small skillet. Leave alone for about 2-3 minutes so bottom can start to set. Then swirl the mixture around the pan. You are basically enlarging the omelet by cooking more egg around the outside.
9. NOW. I don’t know if this is what professional omelet makers do, but it works for me. What I do is once it’s started to set a little, using my spatula I will pull the egg away from the side of the pan and into the middle, tilting the pan simultaneously so that the runny, uncooked portion of egg flows onto the exposed skillet and starts to cook. I do this 4 times around the pan. Visualize an imaginary square, and you are pulling up each side once. Then I will continue to tilt the pan while still leaving it close to the source of heat, to make sure most of the runny egg is now stable. (I should’ve taken more pictures! I hope this is making sense.)
10. Once the egg is at a jello-type consistency but no longer runny (it jiggles but doesn’t run all over when you tilt the pan), it’s time to flip. Be sure to use your spatula all the way around to be sure there are no parts sticking. Then put the spatula underneath, tilt your pan a bit, and flip!
11.ย Reduce heat to low. Spoon inย your veggies and sprinkle a little cheese if desired. I like Triple Cheddar.
12. Fold one half over the other and cook for about a minute more.
13. Slide out of the pan onto a plate and enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Veggie Omelet (First Meal)

I'd love to hear what you think!

