Guacamole

Fixed my guacamole! Yum!

Recipe:

3 Small Avocados or 2 large ones, halved, seeded, cut, and peeled.
Juice from 1 large lime
1/2 tsp Kosher Salt, or more to taste
1/2 medium onion, diced
1/2 jalapeno, seeded and minced
1 Roma tomato, seeded and finely chopped
2 tomatillos, diced
1 TBLspn cilantro, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced

So first you mash the avocado and gently stir in the lime juice and salt. Then fold in all the rest of the ingredients. I’ve gotta say, the trick is the 2 tomatillos. I’m telling you, they make it. They’re an indescribable combo of a cooling effect yet kind of zingy. I am also generous with the cilantro… If it looks like it needs more, I add it. Then I add more salt to taste. (If you’re wondering, yes, kosher salt is better! )
Let sit at room temperature for one hour to let the flavors really marinate.

It is So. Good. 🙂

But how do you keep it from going bad/brown?

Good question. I wondered the same thing, so I asked one of the cooks I work with. He said, keep the avocado pit in it, and lay a piece of lettuce over top. Well I don’t have lettuce, but I did cover it with plastic…
image

And now you can enjoy your guacamole with chips, on wraps, on tacos, on steak, on burgers, as a veggie dip… Whatever your heart desires!

5 thoughts on “Guacamole

I'd love to hear what you think!

