Best BBQ Pork in Crock Pot

For the first few years of my marriage I didn’t really use my crock pot. I felt like it was more work than help, as I still had to prep everything, but I had to do it EARLIER instead of having all day. My husband and I didn’t really eatΒ enough by ourselves at that time, so we always had leftovers (and I hadn’t figured out how to repurpose them yet). Yes I viewed this as a problem. I guess I wasn’t too good at cooking, so if it already didn’t taste great, who wants the leftover version of something you had to suffer through the first time? Ha. Plus that big crock pot insert was so ANNOYING to clean. Sigh.

This meal is the one that got me interested in the crock pot again. It is SO UNBELIEVABLY EASY that I promise, even if you think you’re the worst cook, you can’t really mess it up. So here is the “First Meal”: BBQ pork ribs in the crock pot.

All you need are: a crock pot, a package of country style pork ribs (bone in or boneless, either will do), a bottle of BBQ sauce, and some water. Yep. That’s it.
I always buy the family pack of these, because they are generally cheaper and that way I can freeze half of it for next time.

Side note: Have you seen these Ziploc Perfect Portions? I love them, because they make it quicker to defrost frozen meats, plus it prevents the mess (you put them on like a glove, grab your meat, and pull the plastic over the meat to form a bag. Fold it and you’re done!) It’s great if you have a smaller family and want to portion out 2-3 chicken breasts at a time, or even if you have a larger family but want to separate the meat to decrease defrost time. Plus then you can keep everything in a large gallon bag and take out only the number you need instead of potentially wasting extra food you won’t use.
image

So. All you do is put the pork in the crock pot…
image

squeeze the bottle of BBQ sauce on top…
image

And add water to the top of the meat.
image

Then cook on low for 8 hours. That’s it!
image

I love this because…
1. It’s so easy. No prep required.
2. My kids love it.
3. My husband loves it.
4. I love it. The pork is so tender!
5. The Second Meal opportunities!!!
6. It smells so good all day.

Stay tuned for Second Meal ideas!

2 thoughts on “Best BBQ Pork in Crock Pot

I'd love to hear what you think!

