Words – Using them at Home to Create a Positive Atmosphere

I heard this song called “Words” by Hawk Nelson on my way home from dropping Aubrey at school today. Something about this resonates with me – maybe because one of my spiritual gifts is encouragement. Maybe because I’ve really been trying not to complain lately. Maybe because I’ve been really trying to give ATTENTION to my kids, and respond with love in every situation as best I can. In any case, here are some of the lyrics:

They’ve made me feel like a prisoner
They’ve made me feel set free
They’ve made me feel like a criminal
Made me feel like a king

They’ve lifted my heart
To places I’d never been
And they’ve dragged me down
Back to where I began

Words can build you up
Words can break you down
Start a fire in your heart or
Put it out

Let my words be life
Let my words be truth
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

You can heal the heartache
Speak over the fear
(Speak over the fear)
God, Your voice is the only thing
We need to hear
(We need to hear)

 Let the words I say
(Let the words I say)
Be the sound of Your grace
(Sound like Your grace)
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

I wanna speak Your love
Not just another noise
Oh, I wanna be Your light
I wanna be Your voice

 I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

Something about that phrase… “I wanna speak Your Love, Not just another noise.” That about sums it up right? I want the words I say to be meaningful. It’s like in 1 Corinthians 13 where it talks about how you can speak in tongues of men and angels, but without love, you’re just a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. It’s just NOISE. Meaningless. The words we speak are seeds – and we can choose to sew good or bad ones. Deuteronomy 30:19 says, “This day I call the heavens and the earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessing and curses. Now choose life, that you and your descendants may live.” I LOVE THIS! It puts the ball back in our court. I want to sew words of blessing, all the time, but especially at home around my husband and my children, so that we might live a life “in abundance, to the full, until it overflows” (John 10:10 AMP).

So I said a little prayer that today, my words would be rooted in love, especially when speaking to my kids. Because at some point in the last several weeks, I realized that I wasn’t always responding in love. Yes, when they disobey there need to be consequences so that they learn what’s right and wrong. But it shouldn’t be about a power struggle – and this is the HARDEST THING as a parent! We just want them to do what we say because we SAID so. And when they’re not listening, it’s so easy to get frustrated and react out of anger. But Proverbs 15:1 says, “A soft answer turns away wrath.” I used to think of this only in regards to a response. As in, that person’s yelling and angry, but I’m going to keep calm and keep my voice quiet to counteract their anger. But I think also, when we are in that moment where there is a struggle raging in us, and it feels SO LOUD, we have a choice. And when we choose to speak a soft answer instead of shouting in anger, I think it shuts our wrath out like a light switch.

We just have to CHOOSE blessing and avoid the curse.

I'd love to hear what you think!

