“Train them in the way they should go”

I’ve tried to center my parenting around Proverbs 22:6. It says, “Train up a child in the way he should go, and even when he is old, he will not depart from it.” Somehow, the awareness that the habits and behaviors I teach them now will become a central part of who they are as an adult keeps everything in perspective.

In my last post I mentioned a few things my kids already do that I never would have expected them capable of if I had not allowed my eldest to help with a few things upon her request.Β  Coincidentally (if you believe in coincidences) I saw a post today from a Christian writer/blogger about this very subject!
The things we expect from our kids are pretty clear, but her post encouraged me to actually take the time to sit down with the kids and discuss these things. It only took maybe 10 minutes, even with their participatation – asking them, “what are some things mommy and daddy expect of you?” (And then I explained what ‘expect’ means ;-)) Β  Even Brendan, our 2 1/2 year old, contributed more than I expected!
Similarly, I have noticed families who have “house rules” posted somewhere, but could never figure out exactly what I would include, even though I love the idea.

So, here’s what we came up with (Aubrey numbered them):

image

I encourage you to sit down with your kids and do this same thing. Base your expectations on their abilities – but include one or two that might challenge them as well.

Here is the link to Heidi’s post: A wise mom Multiplies her Efforts

I'd love to hear what you think!

